Vera Lynn – We’ll Meet Again : The Very Best Of


Vera Lynn – We’ll Meet Again : The Very Best Of


Best-known as she was for her association with classic wartime hits and patriotic material from the post-war era, Vera Lynn was a fine big band singer and a classy song stylist who could interpret the finest songs of the era as well as any of her American counterparts . This 20-track collection naturally focuses on the songs she is most associated – “White Cliffs of Dover”, “Auf Wiederseh’n Sweetheart” ( a No. 1 on both sides of the Atlantic), and the iconic title track, but along with those and other similar favourites, there are examples of her artistry on classics like “As Time Goes By” and “Harbour Lights”.


1. (There’ll Be Bluebirds Over) The White Cliffs of Dover
2. Auf Wiederseh’n Sweetheart
3. We’ll Meet Again
4. Travellin’ Home
5. As Time Goes By
6. Dream
7. Far Away Places
8. Harbour Lights
9. It’s a Lovely Day Tomorrow
10. If You Love Me (Really Love Me)
11. When You Hear Big Ben
12. Yours
13. The Loveliest Night of the Year
14. Wish Me Luck as You Wave Me Goodbye
15. Half as Much / Isle of Innisfree / You Belong to Me
16. Up the Wooden Hill to Bedfordshire
17. When I Grow Too Old to Dream
18. Somewhere Along the Way / Here in My Heart / Let the Rest of the World Go By
19. I’m Forever Blowing Bubbles
20. From the Time You Say Goodbye (The Parting Song)