Roy Orbison with The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra – A Love So Beautiful / Unchained Melodies (2 CD Set)


Roy Orbison with The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra – A Love So Beautiful / Unchained Melodies (2 CD Set)

SKU 0190759610824 (WAL) Categories , , ,


A Love So Beautiful & Unchained Melodies: Roy Orbison with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra – this stunning double pack is released off the back of the huge success of this duo individually. Available on 2CD (both albums together for the first time, housed in deluxe new packaging) – these hugely popular albums infuse Orbison’s best original vocal performances with the emotion and world-class musicianship of the Royal Philharmonic, London’s most notable orchestra.

The material covered on A Love So Beautiful is vast, ranging from his early-mid 60s material on the Monument label where he hit his first commercial peak (“In Dreams,” “Blue Angel,” “Crying,” “Dream Baby,” “I’m Hurtin’,” “It’s Over,” “Mean Woman Blues,” “Only the Lonely,” “Oh, Pretty Woman,” “Love Hurts,” “Uptown”) up to his comeback in the late 80s before his untimely passing (“You Got It,” “I Drove All Night,” “A Love So Beautiful”). Where A Love So Beautiful focused more on hits, the repertoire selection for Unchained Melodies is driven by material that specifically lends itself to the orchestral format. Some tracks are included as the result of a poll where fans were asked what should be included on the project. The top six were “Walk On,” “Leah,” “Crawling Back,” “Blue Bayou,” “Danny Boy” and “California Blue,” all of which are represented. The material spans between 1963 and Roy’s 1988 recording sessions just before his untimely passing in December of that year.


Disc 1
1 In Dreams
2 Crying
3 I’m Hurtin’
4 Oh, Pretty Woman
5 It’s Over
6 Dream Baby
7 Blue Angel
8 Love Hurts
9 Uptown
10 Mean Woman Blues
11 Only the Lonely (Know the Way I Feel)
12 Running Scared
13 I Drove All Night
14 You Got It
15 A Love So Beautiful
16 Pretty Paper
17 I Drove All Night (with Ward Thomas)

Disc 2
1 Unchained Melody
2 Blue Bayou
3 She’s a Mystery to Me
4 Heartbreak Radio
5 Falling
6 Walk On
7 The Great Pretender
8 The Crowd
9 The Comedians
10 Crawling Back
11 Danny Boy
12 Too Soon to Know
13 Careless Heart
14 California Blue
15 Heartbreak Radio